In Absentia

Founded in 1990 In Absentia was part of the early Danish electronic body music movement.

In Absentia was started by Henrik Marx and Sune Groule. Shortly after Michael Ellwood joined the band and Tommy B-Kuhlmann followed in 1991. In Absentia signed their first full-length CD contract in 1993 with Hard Records, and subsequently released 2 more albums, of which one was licensed to German Subtronic Records. During the years In Absentia was also well-represented on compilations globally. After the release of the debut album, Absence, Michael Ellwood left the band. In 1996 the band was too occupied with other matters than music, and decided to split up. Tracks for a forthcoming album, Link, had been prepared, but the band members decided that it was time to stop the game and the album was ditched.

In 2012 the first spark of life reignited as In Absentia showed op on the tracklist for the german band Blitzmaschine's EP "Useless Pain", with a remix of the track "Vorwärts".


In Absentia 2012, Photo: Kristine Haffgaard, Palimpsest PhotoFirst new track in 16 years 'Sound Zero (Cybersonic Mix)' was presented on the Danish compilation Cyberworld XX. A handful of remixes for different bands followed before the band went into hiatus again in 2014.

Celebrating the band's 30 years anniversary in 2020, the band has returned in full force, releasing the single 'Insanity' on Tinnitorturous August 1st and working on the first new album in 26 years called 'Reanimated', to be released in 2021.

Today the members are Henrik Marx and Tommy B-Kuhlmann.

Visit the download-section and get older tracks for free.


Visit In Absentia's page on FaceBook | Discogs

© 1990 - 2020 In Absentia